Posted by: seanslastwish | December 23, 2008

Action Alert from Sean’s Last Wish

Help, stop early parole!

Sean Kennedy’s family will never see justice done for Sean. Because of the inadequacy of South Carolina murder laws and the lack of hate crime statutes, his killer, Stephen Andrew Moller, could be out of prison as early as February. We must protest this injustice and ask the parole board to make Moller serve the remainder of his sentence.

Moller was plea bargained down to involuntary manslaughter and received a suspended 5 year sentence for his crime. Because of the credit he received for time he served before his sentencing, the longest possible time he will have to serve in prison is until September 2009. Despite the violence of his crime, he could be eligible for parole by this coming February, meaning that he will have served only 8 months since his sentencing in prison.

The parole board is currently conducting an investigation to decide whether to allow him to have a parole hearing, so it is critical that they hear from you that Stephen Andrew Moller violently murdered Sean Kennedy and should serve the remainder of his sentence!

Please consider writing a letter to the parole board and ask them to deny Stephen Moller parole and serve out his sentence. In your letter, please remind the board of the violent and unprovoked nature of Moller’s offense and the pain and suffering it has caused in the lives of Sean Kennedy’s family and friends. If you have the time, please write a personal letter by hand or by computer, as those will be the most effective, and if you knew Sean or his family personally, please include that information.

Also, please let Elke know if you send a letter and if possible, send her a copy of the letter, so she can have copies to take with her to the parole hearing.

Be sure to include Moller’s full name and ID number:
Stephen Andrew Moller  –  SCDC ID # 00328891.

Send your letters to:
Department of Probation Pardon and Parole Services
2221 Devine Street, Suite 600, PO Box 50666
Columbia SC 29250

Please forward to your contacts, friends and family.
Thank you for all of your support!


Responses

  1. I am with a group of families/survivors impacted by bias motivated violence. Our group, Families United Against Hate, was notified of the need to write letters to the parole board and we are in the process of doing so. How do we contact Elke to provide copies of the letters.
    My son was the victim of an anti-gay assault in 1996 when he was 16. Only 2 of the reported 8 involved were identified. Those two had trials, one plead guilty, the other found guilty but due the judge’s bias and our lame laws in Arkansas they were given time served, 2 days and probation. one of those went on to kill another 8 months later and is now in prison.

    Our website is http://www.fuah.org and my email is carolynwagner@fuah.org, please send contact info for Elke and do not hesistate to let us know if there is anything else we can do. We are parents who know the pain of the dreaded knock on the door or the phone call to inform you that your worst fear has come to pass. My heart goes out to Sean’s mother and all who loved him.

    Carolyn Wagner
    Fayetteville, AR

    • Hi Carolyn,

      This is Elke Kennedy. Thank you so much for your Support. I appreciate your letters so much. I am sorry to hear about your son and the injustice in his case.

      You can send copies of the letters to elke@seanslastwish.org, or via mail to Elke Kennedy, P.O. Box 5697 Greenville, SC 29606. I can also be reached via phone at 864-884-5003.

      Again, thank you so much for your help.

      Love Elke

  2. […] now it’s possible that Moller could be out of prison as early as February. A web site set up in Sean Kennedy’s memory, Sean’s Last Wish, is asking for your help: […]

  3. Today, I sent a letter to the SC Department of Probation, Parole and Pardon Services objecting to the possible parole of Mr. Moller.

    I will gladly send a copy to Elke. What address should I use – and can I send it electronically?

    • You can send your letter via E-mail to Elke@seanslastwish.org or by mail to Elke Kennedy, PO Box 5697, Greenville, SC 29606.

      Thank you so much for your support

  4. […] less than two years after his tragic death, Elke was made aware that he son’s killer, Stephen Andrew Moller, may be getting early parole this […]

  5. I first read about Sean’s murder’s parole hearing on the Towleroad website and was outraged that it is possible he would be considered for parole. I sent a letter on Sean’s mom’s behalf to the parole board and I only hope it helps.

  6. This is outrageous. In Florida, he’d get a harsher punishment for the crime of cockfighting (5 years and $5,000).

    I hope our letters and support can make a difference.

  7. I am not gay,but iI have alot of great friends that are gay.It saddens me to see ignorant people thinking that gay people shouldnt have the same rights,aren’t we in the 21st century?How can this guy that did this get off so easily when friends and family have to deal with this for the rest of their lives,while this peice of shit gets to go about his marry way.They need to make the penalty as stiff as possible so he and others know its not ok to single someone out for a lifstyle they dont understand.Its America and if the laws were changed nation wide ,instead of small towns that see the potential good equal rights for all would bring this country in time of struggle for all Americans.Maybe it would bring people together and make us stronger as a nation.And educate people, then senseless crimes like this one would could be avoided.

  8. Hi my name is Emily Stock. I am a blogger for a org named Lez get Real they are based in cali but were everywhere really. i sent a link to this site to the rest our writers group, to see if they could also pass this around. i will be writing a letter myself and i will also rally here in dallas and see what it is i can get done here . also we have a awesome group of talented writers at lez get real. im lucky & blessed to be apart of it. like i said i will get something on my end here done. and also i passed this info on to the other writers. also i will post a blog on my profile on myspace. and i will also forward this info to join the impact. see what they can do to spread the word. please let this family know that they have alot of people behind them on this…. thanks for your time…..

    I am who I am. Love me for me. Not who you want me to be.
    Like me today. Hate me next week. But when I have something to say, I will speak. You can read more about Emmy on her MySpace page here

    • Emily,

      It was so nice to speak with you this evening and I hope that everything goes well foryou tomorrow. If you could, please send me the links we talked about, and a link to the article you are writing (and others). I look forward to speaking and working with you.

      Again thank you for your efforts and support with this letter campaign.

      Waiting to hear from you once you are back on your feet.

      Love

      Elke

  9. The laws in your state do not hold a longer sentence for Hate Crimes just like many other states across the country. How many more lives will we allow to be beaten to death in our communities before we stand up and protect citizens who have every right to live free from hate?

    Moller should serve every single day of his sentence and more and the gay community should be in outraged for your parole board to be letting this man out early. My organization will stand up for the Sean Kennedy’s across the country so that hate crime law does not have to put the victim on trial for being gay.

    These laws need to be changed and hold a longer sentence and allow the grand jury to consider witness before they send a case like Sean’s to the D.A.’s office for a stiffer sentence.

    http://www.myspace.com/freedomfromhate

    Unity Community Against Gay Hate Crimes (UCAGHC)

    Send your letters to:
    Department of Probation Pardon and Parole Services
    2221 Devine Street, Suite 600, PO Box 50666
    Columbia SC 29250

    • If you can please send a letter to the parole board and send a copy to me to take with me to the hearing. Thank you for helping and your support. I will take a look at your organization. Sounds like we are fighting the same fight.

      Thank you again for forwarding this to others.

      With Love

      Elke Kennedy

  10. Talk about travesties of the law! How could people of good conscience allow something like this to happen?

    What happened to the concept of equality, life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness?

    What if it was your child? Please think carefully before allowing this animal to go free.

    • Dear Linda,

      Did you send this to the Parole board also? If you haven’t please do so and send me a copy of it for me to take to the hearing with me.

      Thank you so much for your support

      Love

      Elke Kennedy

  11. My name is Rhonda, I from Florida and I heard about this case when I was doing an essay on gay rights. These kind of this make me really mad considering my sister is gay, and I pray this never happens to her. Is is too late to send a letter? I would love to do so. This monster should have had a longer sentence.

    Thank you,
    Rhonda

    • Hi Rhonda,

      Thank you for your message. It is definitely not to late to send a letter. It is a matter of fact, I got word yesterday that he will be granted a hearing and it is scheduled for February 11th 2009 at 9 am. And believe it or not he got “credit” for good behavior for pursuing his GED and his final release date has been moved from September 2009 to July 7th 2009!.

      All letters need to be in the hands of the parole board by January 23rd or they won’t be read.

      Thank you for your support.

      With Love

      Elke

  12. I too, came to your site via the Towleroad blog, and have also sent a letter to the parole board. A copy of that same letter was sent to you as well, so that you have it for your petition to the board. I truly hope that the board will deny parole, as that ridiculously light sentence was already a miscarriage of justice in my opinion!

    Good luck with the hearing, I hope they keep Moller where he belongs, behind bars, for the maximum time possible.

    • Thank you so much for your support. Parole Hearing has been scheduled for February for February 11th at 9 am.

      With Love

      Elke Kennedy

  13. I will be sure to send one out tomorrow morning and I will e-mail you a copy of it. I hope the best for this case. It sadens me to see this world has come to this. hopefully with all the letters things will change.

  14. […] less than two years after his tragic death, Elke was made aware that he son’s killer, Stephen Andrew Moller, may be getting early parole this […]

  15. you have my support…

  16. […] As we reported at glaadBLOG last month, the man who killed 20-year-old Sean Kennedy because he was gay was up for early parole after serving only 8 months. […]

  17. From what I read on a friend’s MySpace blog, this idiot has a page on MySpace as well. Apparently this monster did NOT get parole.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

